First KBO Defensive Award…Yang Ji Yang to catcher, Oh Ji-hwan and Park Chan-ho to shortstop

The Korea Baseball Organization (KBO) announced today the inaugural winners of the 2023 KBO Defensive Award for catchers and infielders.
Yang Yang-ji (Doosan) was named the winner of the catcher award.

Yang received 34 votes from the voting public, earning 75 points for a total of 92.41 points, including 17.41 points for the catcher’s defensive record score, which excludes catcher-unassisted stolen bases, and 17.41 points for blocking and official records.

Park Dong-won (LG) with 80.8 points and Kim Tae-gun (KIA) with 70.54 points were second and third, respectively.
In the first base category, Park Byung-ho (KT) received 56 first-place votes and 75 points in the voting.

He also received 25 points for his defensive record, topping both the voting and defensive metrics for a total of 100 points, beating out Austin (LG), who received 68.75 points for second place, and Yang Seok-hwan (Doosan), who received 46.88 points for third place. 카지노사이트777
Kim Hye-sung (Kiwoom) won the KBO Defensive Player of the Year Award at second base with 75 points (64 votes) and 20 points in fielding percentage for a total of 95 points.

She was followed by Kim Sung-hyun (91.25 points-SSG) and Kim Sun-bin (73.75 points-KIA).

In the third base category, Heo Kyung-min (Doosan) was named the winner with a total of 83.33 points, including 75 voting points (31 votes) and 8.33 defensive record points, ahead of Choi Jung (SSG) with 81.94 points and Sihwan (Hanwha) with 72.22 points.
In the shortstop category, Oh Ji-hwan and Park Chan-ho were joint winners. Oh (LG) had 75 votes and 12.5 defensive points, while Park (KIA) had 66.67 votes and 20.83 defensive points, tying for 87.5 total points.

Park Sung-seong (SSG) took third place with 79.17 points.
The KBO Defense Award, which recognizes the position-specific player with the most outstanding defensive performance in the regular season, was established for the first time this season, with the winners determined by a combination of 75 percent of the votes cast by 110 voters, including 11 members from each club, including the manager, nine coaches, and general manager, and 25 percent of the defensive record score.

Previously, Eric Peddy (NC) was honored as the pitcher and Hong Chang-ki, Park Hae-min (LG), and Guillermo Heredia (SSG) as the outfielders.
The winners will be presented with trophies and a cash prize of 2 million won at the KBO Awards Ceremony at the Westin Chosun Hotel in Seoul at 2 p.m. on July 27.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *